Author Topic: MacOs compatibility  (Read 1973 times)

Offline Maxwell487

• VIP
    • View Profile
MacOs compatibility
« on: January 27, 2024, 13:52:18 »
I run Mojave OS on my iMac. I have downloaded both Ancestris 11 and 12 for MacOs and I can't get either one to open. I read a topic here about java being important to this software being able to run on Macs. If so what old versions of Ancestris will work or alternatively which version of Java do I need. I'm not an expert on Mac software configuration so keep it simple! Thank you.

Offline Zurga

• VIP
  • Supernatural Member
    • View Profile
Re: MacOs compatibility
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2024, 14:06:55 »
You have to install Jave on your Mac.
Ancestris works from Java 8 to Java 21 (Java 17 is recommended).
After you should be able to run Ancestris.

The documentation step by step is here : https://docs.ancestris.org/books/user-guide/page/step-by-step-installation-on-macos

Zurga

Offline Maxwell487

• VIP
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2024, 13:31:23 »
Thanks for your reply Zurga, Ancestris now works. I have an iMac and I started with Java 21 but it did not work. i found out on Youtube how to remove it using Terminal. I then installed 17 according to your documentation link and all is now well. Many thanks.   

Offline Zurga

• VIP
  • Supernatural Member
    • View Profile
Re : MacOs compatibility
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2024, 13:36:36 »
Good news.

I hope the software will fill your needs.
Don't hesitate to ask if you have others questions.

Zurga

Offline gprovost

• VIP
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2024, 12:54:23 »
Hello,

I am trying to run Ancestris 12 on Sonoma 14.4.1 but with java installed using sdkman (https://sdkman.io/) - as a java developper I often need to switch the java version

Running java -version gives
openjdk version "17.0.11" 2024-04-16 LTS
OpenJDK Runtime Environment Corretto-17.0.11.9.1 (build 17.0.11+9-LTS)