Author Topic: using geonames  (Read 1459 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wmeyer

  • VIP
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
using geonames
« on: September 04, 2023, 18:46:03 »
I am registered on geonames.org with a username rather than email as user identity. Is that a problem for Ancestris?
When I go to View, List Places, and it offers to check places names, I get an error saying the user is invalid on geonames.org. That is incorrect, as I am logged into geonames.org with that username, and it works fine.

Thanks,

Bill Meyer

Offline Zurga

  • VIP
  • Supernatural Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3 776
    • View Profile
Re: using geonames
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2023, 18:47:07 »
Did you have activated the API usage for you account in geonames ("Free web services") ?

See the documentation here : https://docs.ancestris.org/books/user-guide/page/list-of-places#bkmrk-limite-de-geonames-a

Zurga
« Last Edit: September 04, 2023, 18:48:58 by Zurga »

Offline wmeyer

  • VIP
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: using geonames
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2023, 18:58:54 »
I had missed that. Thank you. With the web services enabled, I now get a message that there was an "Error searching the Internet." And notice that Ancestris will use local info if it exists.

Offline Zurga

  • VIP
  • Supernatural Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3 776
    • View Profile
Re: using geonames
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2023, 19:06:39 »

Offline wmeyer

  • VIP
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: using geonames
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2023, 19:10:18 »
Zipped log attached. The content is a bit too much for me to appreciate, as I am new to Ancestris. I did not find in the text any reference to "invalid".
Sorry! Wrong log file.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2023, 19:40:29 by wmeyer »

Offline wmeyer

  • VIP
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: using geonames
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2023, 19:41:37 »
Actual log attached here. For reasons not clear, I was unable to zip it in 7zip.

Offline Zurga

  • VIP
  • Supernatural Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3 776
    • View Profile
Re : using geonames
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2023, 20:07:03 »
I don't see anything in it that can explain you can't connect.

Zurga

Offline wmeyer

  • VIP
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re : using geonames
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2023, 20:09:08 »
Neither did I. But it is absolutely repeatable. Any suggestions?

Offline Zurga

  • VIP
  • Supernatural Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3 776
    • View Profile
Re : using geonames
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2023, 20:14:58 »
How many places did you try to search ?
Perhaps you experiment the hourly limit.

Zurga

Offline wmeyer

  • VIP
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: using geonames
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2023, 21:27:33 »
It appears to have failed immediately, on the first time out. I have only a few more than 250 entries, so it should not have failed on the first try.

Offline Zurga

  • VIP
  • Supernatural Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3 776
    • View Profile
Re: using geonames
« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2023, 11:36:46 »
Could you try with the last version (v12) ?

Zurga

Offline wmeyer

  • VIP
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: using geonames
« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2023, 14:46:08 »
Tried again, and it worked without complaint, so apparently I had hit the hourly limit in some way, while getting messages which made me think it had not connected.