Author Topic: Child relation to it's parents / patchwork-family - how-to?  (Read 3831 times)

Offline luarix

• VIP
    • View Profile
Child relation to it's parents / patchwork-family - how-to?
« on: September 03, 2020, 17:03:07 »
Hi,

first of all - i am new to Ancestris and - i have to admit - to the whole family-research thing. I would like to know, if it's possible in Ancestris to change the relationship of a child to it's parents for example if one parent adopted the child, but it's the biological child of the other parent of the same family. I didn't find a way to do this in Ancestris, besides adding the "adoption" as a fact, but this does not change the relation.

I am almost sure, that i could do this directly in the GEDCOM file, as it's also mentioned in the GEDCOM reference available at ancestris.org: http://www.ancestris.org/dl/ancestris/norme_gedcom/55gcch2.htm#PEDIGREE_LINKAGE_TYPE - however: i do not really know, how and what i would have to change, to do it correct - especially for this "patchwork-family" case.

And: would Ancestris still load the modified GEDCOM file and take care of the changed things, that means: does not overwrite/remove the relation and or - ideally - could display this information?

Sorry, if this all sounds a little bit confusing, i probably also do not know the right terms for this all - so far. :-)

Thanks!

Online Zurga

• VIP
  • Supernatural Member
    • View Profile
Re: Child relation to it's parents / patchwork-family - how-to?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2020, 18:52:40 »
Thank for trying Ancestris. We hope this software will answer yours needs.

The situation that you describe needs 2 things :
- 2 families
- 2 types of relations.

First of all, there is 2 families :
- the one between the two adults
- the one with the mother and the child.
Create a new union for the mother with the biological father (or unknown people if you want).

Now there is two types of relationship :